- If you have an assault ramp, can you mount rear weapons? If so, can
they be used while the ramp is down?
- Can you use a cyberlink on two weapons if they are linked?
- Can you tell if a vehicle has armor? If so, is there a way to
disguise it (as in hiding armor on Q-trucks)?
- How about some HC modifiers for off-road conditions?
- When driving in ice and snow, how much do chains help HC?
- David A. Brambora
- Rear weapons may be mounted with an assault ramp, and they can fire
while it is down, but the weapons will not be protected by the rear
armor while the ramp is down.
- A cyberlink may be connected to two linked weapons.
- In 2034, it is very rare for a ear not to have at least one or two
points of armor. The presence of armor is obvious; the amount or
thickness is very difficult to discern without poking around the vehicle
at close range.
- Check out the AADA Vehicle Guide (which should be out by
the time you read this) for complete off-road duelling rules.
- Chains will reduce the base HC of a vehicle
by one, but it cuts the penalty for driving on ice from
+D4 to +D1 and eliminates the penalty for driving
on snow. Chains east $20 and take up no weight or
- JG and SDH
My brother and I have a disagreement over a passage of your Car
Wars rulebook. The passage on page 18 entitled "Kills" states that
"a kill is scored when an enemy vehicle can no longer move or fire,
either because of a direct attack or a crash during combat..." I believe
that if an enemy car can move or it can fire a kill is not
scored. Both movement and firing must be stopped for a kill to be
scored. My brother believes that if either movement or firing is
stopped, a kill is scored. If my brother is right, you can score a kill
by simply shooting out a tire, which doesn't seem to be a very good way
to score a kill. Please send us the answer so our argument can be
- Kirk Towner
Ft. Riley. AR
You're right. A car that can't fire but can still
move is still a threat. Ditto for a vehicle that can't
move but still has working weapons. A kill is scored
when an enemy vehicle can no longer move and no
- Is it possible to mount weapons outside the armor of a vehicle?
- Is it possible to fit any vehicle inside a Van Trailer and use an assault
- Bill Blais
- With the exception of the rocket platform, which allows you to
mount heavy rackets (and their smaller cousins) on the outside of a van
or oversized vehicle, no. But Uncle Albert's working on the
- You can fit any car or motorcyle inside a Van Trailer.
Where can a bomb dropped from a helicopter land? Anywhere in the
bottom arc of fire? Along the path of flight for the helicopter? How
long does it take a bomb to fall 10"?
- Marvin Lamb
W. Lafayette, IN
A bomb lands anywhere under the helicopter, instantly. For a more complex approach, take a look
at the Forward Motion of Bombs Table in the game
Air War, published by SPI/TSR.
When a car rolls:
- If the speed is not a multiple of 10, does the rolling car move on
the half-move? How much?
- If the car lands on its side, can the occupants push the car onto
its wheels? If so, do the wheels take damage?
- David B. Marron
Yorba Linda, CA
- For simplicity's sake, ignore the half-move
on the first turn of the roll, then decelerate the vehicle 25 mph at the start of the next turn to eliminate
the odd move. The vehicle will continue to decelerate at 20 mph as usual every turn
- It would take three people ten seconds to push a car from its
side to its wheels. Four people could do the job in eight seconds, and
five or more could do it in five. The wheels would not take damage as
the shock would not be as violent as when the car was rolling. Vans and
oversized vehicles cannot be righted by any number of people.
- In the Car Wars booklet it says one- and two-space turrets take up no spaces, but the Reference
Screen says it takes one and two spaces, respectively. What gives?
- Do bombs do 4d6 damage on what they hit, and 2d6 damage to anything
within a 2" radius? If a bomb misses its target, does it automatically
hit within 2", or is another roll needed first?
- Are you going to come out with metal miniatures of trucks, trailers,
buses, and helicopters? If you are, when and how much?
- What are some of the things that cargo spaces are used for?
- What is a SASE?
- Can you get a loan from a bank to buy a car for autoduelling? If so,
what would the limit be, and the interest?
- Mike Medhurst
San Diego. CA
- The booklet says that the turrets add no
space. The space the turret provides for the weapons
is balanced by the space the turret takes from the
vehicle. A two-space turret takes up two spaces from
a car, but you can put two spaces' worth of weapons
in it at no additional cost.
- The bomb in Autoduel Champions does, indeed, do 4d6 to whatever
it hits and 2116 to anything else in its 2" blast radius. In the case
of a miss, designate the four directions along the grid as one through
four and roll one die (ignoring 5s and 6s) to determine the direction of
the miss. Then roll 1d6 to determine the number of inches it missed by.
If anything else is in the new blast radius, it's their tough
- Grenadier Models has some trucks and trailers available now, as
well as all the cars and motorcycles. As for helicopters and buses, you
could always ask them...
- Well, mostly cargo. The players might be hired to carry an
important (and perhaps illegal) shipment of just about anything -
cigarettes, books, liquor, medical supplies, food, money, whatever you
can come up with - in order to start them off on an adventure.
- Self-Addressed Stamped Envelope.
- Anybody that would get in a car and let people shoot at him is
not a very good credit risk. Banks won't touch individual loans for
duelling vehicles, unless you offer so much collateral that it would be
cheaper to sell whatever you had for collateral and buy the car
- Is "fireproof armor" immune to flamethrowers and/or lasers? Or do they just do
- On a six-wheeled van or pickup, are the extra wheels next to the third and fourth wheels or can
they be beside then, or can it be either way?
- In an RV, can you put gunners in the middle of the vehicles?
- Tod Casasent
- Fireproof armor takes damage from all weapons just like regular
armor. Its advantage is that it cannot be set on fire.
- The additional wheels can either be parallel
to the first set of back wheels (on the same "axle,"
as it were, even though the cars of 2034 don't have
axles) or one in front of the other - it's your choice.
- You can put gunners anywhere in a vehicle except for cargo
- How hard is it to distinguish the E-Z Ejection Seat from a normal
seat? How much extra would it cost to conceal the difference if it is
noticeable? I want to be sure in case I wind up with a paranoid
- If the teargas is released into the passenger compartment of the
Galleria Taxi, and the wall between driver and passenger is subsequently
penetrated, how long would it take for the gas to affect the driver,
assuming he wasn't wearing his gas mask? Is there a plus to hit said
partition from the passenger seat? Am I correct in assuming that the
driver has a way of conveniently keeping track of his passengers despite
the partition (i.e., a hidden camera with a viewscreen)?
- Mike Ehli
- The E-Z Ejection Seat is indistinguishable
from a normal, safe passenger seat (heh, heh...).
- If the partition in the taxi was breached (and hitting the
partition would be automatic from the passenger seat), the driver would
have about two seconds to either put on a gas mask, get out of the cab,
or be affected by the gas. Your assumption about viewscreen
surveillance is correct.
- Does a roll cage cover the cargo area on a pickup?
- Can a roll cage be installed in a bus? in a trailer? Does it take up
extra space and weight?
- Can PR Radials be put on oversized vehicles? What is the weight, the
- Can a turreted weapon be linked with another weapon of the same type
elsewhere in the vehicle? (Example: a turreted laser and a front-firing
- Do the wire-guided and radar-guided missile
systems fire both shots at once?
- Clark Breslin
- Roll cages can only be installed in ears.
- PR Radials are not available for oversized
vehicles (not yet...).
- No, the shots are not fired simultaneously.
Issue 2/3 Index