HTMLized by J.D Forinash.
- 1) Do wheelguards mounted only over the
rear wheels of a four-wheeler reduce its HC?
- 2) If a rocket launcher fires and hits within
point-blank range, does the firing vehicle take
damage from the burst effect? If so, how
-- Steve Shea
- 1) No.
- 2) Burst effects do not affect vehicles,
so the firing car would be safe in this
- 1) Can a rocket platform be mounted on
the bottom of a helicopter?
- 2) If a pedestrian is standing in front of an
object (car, other pedestrian, etc.) and fires a
LAW, would the object take damage from the
-- Jason Glass and Jeff Pidlypchak
- 1) No.
- 2) Interesting idea, but very complicated. For game purposes, no.
- 1) In the story Serendipity (ADQ 2/3),
what's the car "Magnum"?
- 2) How high can skill levels go?
-- Brad Graham
- 1) The car Buster Coughlin drives in
Serendipity is called a Magnum in the same
sense that you would call a 1985 Mustang a
"Ford. "Magnum is the name of the manufacturer.
Exact details on Coughlin 's car are not
- 2) There is no rules limit on how high skill
levels can go. But few characters get above 5
in anything -- they either die or retire first.
- 1) In ADQ 2/1, you and Uncle Albert gave
us the E-Z Ejection Seat made for passengers
or the driver in an emergency. But in ADQ
2/4, someone asks if when ignited, does the
seat do damage to the vehicle's interior, and
the answer was yes. What if a person was to
get rid of a passenger or the gunner -- he
would save them, but get killed by the effect of
the blast? And what happens to the car's interior? What gives?
- 2) Can a Bumper Trigger (ADQ 2/3) be
put on the side of a vehicle?
-- Paul Chezzo
- 1) Good point. To make this all work out,
let's say that the damage that the ejection seat
does half the time is only to the side of the interior
that the seat was on. If the driver ejects the
gunner, then half the time the rocket blast will
render the gunner 's position unusable until it's
repaired -- but the driver will always be unaffected.
2) Absolutely. That might make someone
- think twice about ramming you.
- How many Multiple-Fire Rocket Pods
(ADQ 1/4) can be mounted on a car? Are they
like rocket platforms?
-- Mike Andersen
Arlington Heights, IL
- The MFR is like any other weapon -- if
you've got the spaces and the weight, you can
cram as many in as you want.
- If you cover someone's Reflective Armor
(ADQ 2/2) with paint from your handy paint
sprayer, would he take full damage from a
laser? What I'm thinking of is that the paint
will prevent the reflection of the beam until it
can somehow be removed. This brings up a
second question: Can paint be cooked off by a
laser, and if so, how many shots would it take?
-- Dirck de Lint
- If the laser beam can get through the paint
to get to the reflective armor, it can probably
get through the paint on its way out. I don't
think paint would hamper the efficiency of
laser-reflective armor at all. No, paint can't be
cooked off by a laser.
- 1) If a MONDO throws a grenade at a
group of policemen at the beginning of a turn,
can one of the policemen pick it up and throw
it back? If so, is this a firing action?
- 2) Is it possible for a pedestrian to have
weapons such as a portable laser, a portable
rocket launcher, or smoke grenades? If so,
how much would it cost, how much would it
weigh, and how much damage would it inflict?
- 3) If a pedestrian is carrying 2 heavy pistols,
one in each hand, could he fire them both
on the same turn?
-- Peter H. Berce
Presque Isle, ME
- 1) If the policeman has a free hand, he can
try to pick up the grenade (if he's got his hands
full with a weapon, he'll have to drop it this
turn, and can't act until next turn). The "roll
two dice and pray" method comes in nicely
here; considering the stress factor, it should
take an 8 or more (or thereabouts) on two dice
to successfully pick it up. That's all he can do
this turn, so our policeman friend better hope
it was not set to go orat the end of this turn. If
he's still alive, he can throw it next turn as per
the standard rules. If he's relatively sure that
he can't get rid of it in time, our heroic policeman
could elect to fall on the grenade -- this
would require only a 5 or more on two dice to
successfully accomplish (on a lower roll, he
knocked it away a couple of feet trying to dive
on it or something). The person falling on the
grenade will take 2d6 -- 1 damage -- he might
survive. No one else in the burst radius will be
- 2) Portable lasers and rocket launchers for
pedestrians don't exist yet... but I'm sure
Uncle Albert's working on it. For more than
you ever wanted to know about grenades, see
the article elsewhere in this issue.
- 3) The Car Wars rules only allow pedestrians
to fire once per turn, but we'll make an
exception in this case. Unfortunately, fire from
the pistol in your "good hand" is at -- 1 -- this
is because you're firing one-handed instead of
two-handed -- and fire fromthe pistol in your
"offhand" is at -- 4.
- 1) Why is tire weight included in maximum
load? Aren't the tires on the ground anyway, and holding up the vehicle?
- 2) Does the hand-held flamethrower in
ADQ 2/2 do full damage to vehicles?
- 3) In ramming, why is just the front armor
affected? Aren't the other armor spots affected
also? The vehicles look like they "bunch up"
when they hit something. Some wreck counters
looked like their side, top, and maybe bottom
armor were affected along with the front
- 4) Does the turret and the top armor have
separate armor or are they put together? If
someone destroys a turret, does this mean that
the entire top armor is destroyed? The turret
takes up only some of the area on the top, not
the whole top area of the vehicle.
-- Rogil and Gilbert Camama
- 1) You're right, but we decided long ago
that keeping track of two weights -- Total
Vehicle Weight and Chassis Load Weight --
was an unnecessary complication.
- 2) Yes.
- 3) Again, you're right. Things other than
front armor should be damaged in a collision.
But the complexity problem hits again -- how
much damage goes to which other parts? How
does the ratio change if the collision is not
directly head-on? For simplicity's sake, we're
using the rules we've got.
- 4) Technically (and in some super-advanced,
super-complicated version of Car
Wars we may do this someday), you should
keep track of Top Armor and Turret Armor as
separate entities. But that's very complicated
-- the rules we have now simulate what's happening
fairly well, and are a whole lot simpler.