- Can a WGM be guided upward to high-altitude targets?
- When you list "AP ammo" in your vehicle designs, do you mean
"anti-personnel ammo" or "armor-piercing ammo"?
- When a pedestrian targets another pedestrian with a hand weapon,
does he still get a -3 to-hit modifier? It seems unrealistic for a guy
to plug another with a machine-pistol at 16' away with a 1 in 6 chance
- Does the bomb do 4 or 2 dice damage? DCW
confusingly lists one or the other in different places.
- Can a twin laser be used in a LGL? Can a rocket gain the benefits
of a LGL and a targeting computer at the same time?
-Jeff Cavano, Benicia, CA
- Sure. but it has a 72" range limit - after it runs out of fuel,
it will fall back to earth (you can either assume it just went away, or
you can use your physics textbook to help you figure out exactly where).
- Actually, it depends on the weapon. MGs, VMGs and hand weapons have
anti-personnel ammo, but not armor-piercing; therefore, AP stands for
anti-personnel. For weapons like RLs, MMLs, and various rockets, which
have armor-piercing loads but not anti-personnel ones, AP stands for
armor-piercing. At this point, no weapon has both anti-personnel and
armor-piercing ammo available. We'll try to make this less confusing in
- Well, I'm not going to reality test this one ... but it doesn't seem
that unlikely to me. Remember, that's a 1 in 6 chance every turn, which
is only one second long - if you fire for five seconds, odds are real
good he'll go down.
- Oops. Congratulations - you found a mistake no one's ever found
before. The 4 dice figure is correct.
- Yes, and yes Hook the targeting computer to the targeting laser -
whatever the final "to hit" number of the laser is, that's the "to hit"
number of the rockets. So it pays to make that laser as accurate as
- Can StealthKote Shield be used on a boat?
- If so, will it protect you from Homing Torpedoes?
-Scott Starkey, Torrance, CA
Yes, and yes.
- In Dueltrack, a turret on a dragster is
pre-set so it can't fire to the rear, so could you put an FT in a turret
on a normal vehicle and pre-set it so it can't fire forward?
- How long does it take for a Paramedic to treat someone?
- If cycles can't have solid tires, what happens when a cycle with OR
solid goes from off-road onto the highway?
-Jeff Smith, Glendale, CA
- Sure, but I still don't see why you'd want to.
- I assume you're not using the optional hospitalization rules given a
few issues back (ADQ 4/4). Just assume that a
paramedic can treat one casualty every 5 minutes.
- -3 to HC.
- Can AP rockets explode if your car is on fire? (While the warhead
can't, the propellant might.)
- Can a VFRP use incendiary rockets? (If so, what are the stats?)
- Can HRs, MRs, LRs,MRs, or MFRs be incendiary?
-Brent Eubanks, Phoenix, AZ
- Yes, armor-piercing rockets are still an explosion hazard.
- 3. No. Only RLs and MMLs may carry incendiary
- One question: Is fireproof armor immune to damage caused by the
Flame Cloud Ejector?
-James Rexford, Oak Grove, KY
No, it takes damage just like it does against all other fire
attacks. But it cannot be set on fire.
- On p. 47, Peter Reed, Tyne & Wear, England. asked a couple
questions I don't think you really thought about. His question #1 was
if copters could be put into van trailers and you said no, the rotors
would get in the way. Yes, this is true, but if you have rotors that
fold to the rear position you could easily put your copter in a trailer
van. On question #2, he asks if a copter can land or take off from a
flatbed or van trailer top. You said yes to the flatbed and no to the
van trailer. I agree with you there, but if he's travelling with that
copter in the back of that flatbed, he better have those rotors folded
up or taken off. Otherwise, the first pole, underpass or van trailer to
pass is going to damage both of them. I think it's now time for Uncle
Albert to put some foldable rotors in his inventory so Peter Reed can
fix his travelable copter up.
- Also, in the ADQ&A, I would like to see the guy's whole address
other than his name and city. For example, when Tim Basham asked about
getting miniatures, I could have written and told him Imaginative Mail
Order still has Car Wars miniatures by
Grenadier or he might also look at Train hobby shops, since they have
all different sizes of cars for their modeling fans. If someone doesn't
want his address printed, he can say so.
-Bob Becker, Auburn, WA
On some of the letters I get, I'm lucky to decipher a name. But
your idea has merit; starting next issue, if anyone wants their letter
(for both "ADQ&A" and "Backfire"), just say so - and make sure we
can read your handwriting!
- On the subject of turrets, I remember reading that the reason why
subcompacts cannot have turrets is that the turning mechanism would have
to occupy the space where the driver is supposed to be, I have
interpreted this to mean that if you put a remote-control receiver and
have no room for a driver, a subcompact will fit a one-space turret. Is
my interpretation correct?
-Daniel Schultz, Jeffersonboro, PA
Well, it would be if our pseudo-scientific explanations for why
rules are the way they are was as important as the rules themselves.
But the simple fact is that explanations like "the driver's head is in
the way" is a rationalization. Subcompacts can't mount turrets (other
than the Zero-Space Turret, of course) because we think they're too
small, period. So, even when the vehicle is remote-controlled, it still
cannot mount a turret.
HTMLized by Odette Mintrom, email@example.com